Today’s blog is a review of some of my most favourite books mostly because they have left a lasting impression and inspired me in my every-day life. Some are aimed more as a moment to cuddle up and enjoy a good book with your child while others are for those moments when you are looking for a temporary escape from reality.

Books to read with your kids

Le Petit Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (1943)

Top of my list is The Little Prince. It is classic story filled with innuendos and complex constructs but still appropriate for all age-levels. This is one of those stories where you just want to soak in the dialogue and imagine the varying levels of beauty that exist in life. My daughter Lauren and I have spent many moments talking about what was happening in the story, trying to interpret the archetypes and what that last sentence that we just read may or may not have meant. The movie is also really well made and may help with your interpretations before or after reading the book.

Pax by Sara Pennypacker (2016)

“Mommy, that was so sad” says my 10 year-old daughter at the end of every chapter. It’s not an easy read because the content is at times bleak and filled with a sense of despair. There were a few times when we felt that we needed a bit of a break from the story. Despite the melancholic tone, it is still filled with hope and acceptance that a child can appreciate. Age appropriate for children 10 and up.

Wonder by R.J. Palacio (2012)

In a recent post, I wrote about the impact this book has had on me. It is a beautiful and at times heart-wrenching story about a boy who overcomes his facial disfigurement and faces his fears and starts school for the first time. The underlying theme is one of kindness and acceptance and the impact that these simple acts can have on others. I can’t say enough about this book. It was one that my daughter and I found difficult to put down and enjoyed enormously.

Other favourites: 

The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein

The Mitten by Jan Brett

The Unlikely Adventures of Mable Jones by Will Mabbitt

Books to read on your own as an escape

The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood (2015)

I love practically everything that Margaret Atwood writes. She is one of the most accomplished and talented modern-day writers in my opinion and she also happens to be Canadian. The Edible Woman (1969) is probably one of her best-known works and I truly enjoyed it, however, I really love her stories set in a futuristic time, such as my most recent read – The Heart Goes Last– when catastrophe hits and humans are left to adapt to all sorts of unusual circumstances. There are many erotic images at work as well in this one, so if you are a 50 Shades of Grey fan, you’ll love what this 77 year old author can come up with!

The Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison (1952)

This one is a classic about an African American man facing social and intellectual challenges early in the twentieth century. If you read and enjoyed The Book of Negroes, and considering that it was recently black history month, this book is a great representation of the struggles of black people.

Other favourites:

Lullabies for Little Criminals by Heather O’Neil

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Room by Emma Donoghue

Feel free to share your most favourite reads in the comment section. We love hearing from our readers!!

 

 

 

